Lake District

The first National Park in the UK and the first since 2001 the Lake District becomes an official UNESCO World Heritage site.

The Lake District landscape…

Satura Crag

It joins the other 30 United Kingdom World Heritage Sites of which only 4 are classed as Natural and two of those are in Overseas Territories. The first was the Giant’s Causeway and Causeway Coast in Northern Ireland in 1986 followed by the Jurassic Coast of Dorset and East Devon in 2001. It is included in the Cultural classification along with 25 others.

Lake District
Kentmere Valley

It does, of course, beg the question of why with such a diverse and extensive landscape the UK does not have more in the landscape category although the Flow Country of Sutherland and Caithness in the far north of Scotland has been on the tentative list since 2012 and may come into this category.

The Lake District Gallery contains more images for you to enjoy and if you find an image that is to your liking you can also purchase prints, canvases, and other wall art showing that image.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment